Cotémon alternative
Cotémon alternative: a free Cardmarket price
Cotémon and pepita aim at the same reader: a Cardmarket price in euros on iPhone. The difference is the price tag — Cotémon’s listing states three free scans and then a Pro plan at €3.99 a month, while pepita gives 20 free scans a day, with optional Premium. Stay on Cotémon for recognition that works offline.
Cotémon
- Publisher
- Soufiane Chalouh
- Pricing
- In-app purchases, from €3.99 / month
- Platforms
- iOS
- Price source
- Cardmarket + TCGplayer
- Currencies
- EUR, USD
- App Store rating (France)
- No rating yet
pepita or Cotémon: the verdict
Criterion by criterion
8/ 8
pepita does as well as or better than Cotémon on 8 of the 8 criteria both publishers state.
Where pepita does better
- Platforms
A criterion either publisher does not state is not counted, and an App Store rating only ranks from 20 ratings on each side. See the table
Cotémon in short
Cotémon is an iPhone app published by Soufiane Chalouh, dedicated to the Pokémon TCG. Its publisher states that recognition runs on the device, so it works offline, with a Cardmarket value in euros as the main price and a TCGplayer price in dollars as a reference.
Cotémon vs pepita
One row per criterion, sorted by which app comes out ahead. A criterion is ranked only when both publishers state it: a dash means “not stated by the publisher”, never “no”, and an absence is not inferred from a silence.
| Criterion | Cotémon | Recommendedpepita |
|---|---|---|
| Where pepita does better | ||
| Platforms | iOS | iOS, Android (better) |
| Criterion by criterion | ||
| Games covered | Pokémon only | Pokémon only |
| Single-card scan | Yes | Yes |
| Price source | Cardmarket + TCGplayer | Cardmarket |
| Currencies | EUR, USD | EUR |
| French interface | Yes | Yes |
| French cards | Yes | Yes |
| Value history | Yes | Yes |
| Pricing | In-app purchases, from €3.99 / month | In-app purchases, from €7.99 / month |
| Multi-card scan | — | No |
| Japanese cards | — | Yes |
| Graded cards | — | No |
| Sealed products | — | No |
| App Store rating (France) | No rating yet | 5/5 |
| Last iOS update | 17 September 2026 | 21 August 2026 |
pepita gives the Cardmarket price in euros, French and Japanese cards included, free within 20 scans a day and with no ads; the optional Premium subscription (€7.99 a month or €47.99 a year, on iPhone) lifts that limit. It is on iPhone and Android and rated 5/5 on the French App Store. It does not price graded cards or sealed products. The app interface is currently in French.
What pepita does better
Why pepita, point by point, with what you need to check it.
Free every day, Premium only if you want it
pepita gives 20 free scans a day, with the Cardmarket price in euros, the collection, its value over time and Top Movers. The optional Premium subscription only adds unlimited scanning and subscriber-only giveaways: €7.99 a month or €47.99 a year, on iPhone. No advertising in the app.
Allowance and prices checked on 7 October 2026; the other apps' prices are in the “Pricing” column of the tables, read on the French App Store and Google Play listings on 18 September 2026.
The cards that are moving, open to everyone
The Top Movers tab ranks the biggest risers and fallers of the week or the month, printing by printing, from the same Cardmarket reading as the rest of the app. That weekly reading is also published in the open on this site, with no account and no subscription. Two other publishers state that they track price changes, ZebraDex and MonPrice; their listings do not say whether it is included in their free tier, so we count it neither for nor against.
The public weekly reading: the Pokémon market this week.
The interface: our opinion, owned as one
We think pepita is the most pleasant of the lot to use. That is an opinion, it cannot be sourced, and it therefore belongs in no table on this page. What can be checked: no advertising, and the price shows from the first scan, with no subscription. Frame the card, read the price, move on to the next one — the app does nothing else, and that is the point. It is free to download: the only test that counts costs a minute.
A European price, never converted
The price shown is the Cardmarket price in euros, the market a card actually sells on in Europe. Printings stay apart: standard, reverse holo and holo are three separate products on Cardmarket, and confusing the first two is the largest silent pricing error there is. Several apps in this comparison quote TCGplayer first, so an American market in dollars.
The rest of the site: free, no sign-up
The card-by-card prices, the set pages, the ranking of the most expensive cards and the valuation tools are public, dated and need no sign-up. Every price carries its source and the date it was read.
Other alternatives to Cotémon
Each line repeats what the comparison already says about the app; follow the link for its own page.
This list is computed from the dataset rather than picked by hand: it keeps the apps that run on every platform the compared app runs on, that name at least one of the same marketplaces, the same currency and the same games. A field the publisher does not state counts neither for nor against.
When to stay on Cotémon
Moving apps costs data-entry time. These are the cases where Cotémon remains the right answer, each one resting on a fact from its official listing.
- You scan without a network. The publisher states on-device recognition that works offline, with an online second opinion for hard-to-read cards — useful in a shop or at a convention.
- You want a US reference beside the European price. The publisher states the Cardmarket value in euros as the main price and a TCGplayer price in dollars as a reference; pepita shows the euro only.
- You do not read French. Its French App Store listing shows nine interface languages, including English, German, Spanish, Italian, Dutch, Portuguese, Slovak and Czech. pepita’s interface is in French only.
- You want card names in your own language. The publisher states card names in French, English, German, Spanish and Italian.
Sources
Every fact on this page comes from an official page: the French App Store listing, the Google Play listing or the publisher's site, read on 18 September 2026. Report an error
A Cardmarket price, with no plan
pepita scans a card and shows its Cardmarket value in euros. Free with 20 scans a day; optional Premium at €7.99 a month or €47.99 a year, on iPhone. On iPhone and Android. The app interface is currently in French.
Frequently asked questions
Is Cotémon free?
Installing is free and the listing states that the free tier covers the first three scans and three cards. Beyond that, the in-app purchase list shows Cotémon Pro at €3.99 a month or €23.99 a year. pepita gives 20 free scans a day; its optional Premium subscription costs €7.99 a month or €47.99 a year, on iPhone.
Is Cotémon on Android?
The publisher’s site offers an App Store download only, and no Google Play listing was found for this app when the dataset was checked. pepita, PokéCardex, PokéItem, Dex and Poké TCG Scanner Dragon Shield cover Pokémon on Android.
Which other app states a Cardmarket price in euros?
pepita states euros only, on iPhone and Android, with 20 free scans a day. PokéItem states the Cardmarket Near Mint quote in eight currencies including the euro. PokéCardex names Cardmarket and TCGplayer without stating a currency.
The other comparisons
One page per app readers ask about, built the same way.